The Chaperone

Yesterday evening and this morning I was suffering from a case of Mondayitis.  Mondayitis on a Sunday? That’s bad!

Yesterday it was due to the impending end of the weekend (you know what I’m talking about!) and this morning it was purely due to the comfort level of my bed.  If you’ve been reading fizzsbizz for a while now you’ll know that I’m not a very good sleeper.  I often don’t sleep through the night or can’t fall asleep in the first place.  BUT last night, ohhh last night was a night of blissful sleep and I woke up this morning feeling so darn comfy in my bed that I actually wasn’t sure I would be able to get out.

Alas, I did and I’m back at work.  Mondayitis is subsiding thankfully!

Breakfast…

Mondayitis is slipping away due in large part to this little beauty that contributed to my morning meal.

Chobani Raspberry…yum!

I am seriously loving all of the Chobani Greek Yogurt flavours.  I know many people say to steer clear of ‘fruit on the bottom’ yogurt and instead opt for plain yogurt sweetened with honey, but in the morning this goes down a real treat! I do use the plain yogurt with honey when I’m eating it for dessert, but in the morning when I know I’m going to be up and about all day, it works just fine for me!

I combined this little delicious morsel with some old-fashioned oats and almond milk last night and popped it in the fridge to become overnight oats.

Raspberry Overnight Oats!

Topped with some fresh raspberries, this was a wonderful way to start my day!

…………………………….

I am currently reading a book entitled ‘The Chaperone’ by Laura Moriarty (reading and loving!) which tells the story of a woman (Cora) who accompanies a young lady (Louise) into New York City while she attends a dancing school.  It is set in 1922 and I am finding it to be a really fantastic read.  You can read the NY Times review here.

‘The Chaperone’

(Photo Source)

One thing that I’ve found myself thinking about a lot and that this book touched on for me last night, is the way that people see the ‘youth’ of today.  I think that we (yes, sometimes fairly) tend to get a bad reputation from the older generation.  I was thrilled to see that during the recent election, the number of young people who voted had jumped significantly.  I think we have a lot to say, can make a big difference and I truly hope that we do.

I think working with little ones day in and day out leads me to think about this more than some.  I always try to show them respect (yes, even as 2 and 3 year olds) in the hope that they’ll grow up and do the same.

It was one paragraph in the book that really got me thinking (and sent me off on this tangent!).

‘The Chaperone’

‘She would owe this understanding to her time in New York, and even more to Louise.  That’s what spending time with the young can do – it’s the big payoff for all the pain.  The young can exasperate, of course, and frighten and condescend, and insult and cut you with their still unrounded edges.  But they can also drag you, as you protest and scold and try to pull away, right up to the window of the future, and even push you through’ – ‘The Chaperone’. 

This paragraph just really struck home with me and filled me with the need to make sure that I, as a young woman use my ‘powers’ for good as so many of my wonderful friends are doing.  Like my friends Pete (working with MRA to develop environmentally sustainable ski areas) and Dave (working with SkiDuck – a non-profit dedicated to improving the lives of kids through skiing and snowboarding) and so many more.

I hope everyone out there today (regardless of age) shows some respect, gets some respect and uses their powers for good!

This is feeling very Captain Planet right now… ‘With our powers combined…’

Captain Planet!

(Photo Source)

Sorry to get heavy on you on a Monday morning.  I’ll be back later with some more light heartedness and cute photos of Annie!

Happy Monday!

Leave a Reply

