Red Bull Flugtag.

This afternoon Chris, Annie and I wandered on down to the Red Bull Flugtag that was being held in San Francisco today.  I have always heard about the Flugtag, but have never actually been around a city when it’s on so I was excited to check it out! And, being that it was walking distance for us, it was a no brainer for a Saturday afternoon.

When we made it down there, there were people everywhere! There were food trucks set up, red bull everywhere and people just generally having a good time and enjoying a chilly, sunny SF day.

Red Bull City!

For anyone that doesn’t know, the Flugtag is described by Red Bull as ‘where self taught pilots meet homemade flying machines’.  Just to paint the picture for you, imagine teams of people dressed up in crazy outfits (think high-heeled boots and leopard print spandex) launching insane flying machines off a huge ramp into the freezing bay! Fun? You betcha!

We smushed ourselves in with the big crowd to try to catch a glimpse of the launches first hand, but with the crowds as they were, we could barely see a thing! We managed to catch one launch where they actually did really well! And then we headed back into the main area.

Red Bull Flugtag

Flying Machines!

We saw one team getting ready on the lineup sporting red patent leather platform boots.  Props to those guys for even making it up to the ramp, let alone flying off it!

Work it boys!

I loved this event for several reasons, the main one being that it was like a real life version of Chitty Chitty Bang Bang!! Awesome.

Also awesome were the food trucks at the site! Chris opted for Filipino while I was still full from my pancake brunch.  He had the tacos and they were delicious (I definitely had room for a little taste!).

Filipino Delight!

Annie was getting a little food crazed from all the bits and pieces on the floor that we decided she needed a little cuddle break…

Let me at itttttttttt!

I enjoyed a SodaCraft spicy ginger soda which really hit the spot.  I am a huge ginger beer lover so this was right up my alley!

SodaCraft Spicy Ginger Soda!

We came, we saw we ate! Red Bull Flugtag was a lot of fun to check out and I’m glad we made it down there.

………………….

Lunch…

Lunch for me was a late one! I wasn’t hungry at all until 4pm! And then, I was starving! Luckily I had my delicious left over udon noodle bowl in the fridge.  I heated it up while I munched on my one left tempura pumpkin piece.  If it’s even possible, this noodle bowl got more delicious (and spicy) over night! The spice was a welcome taste for me today, I am embracing all things spice! It’s crazy, I do not have a very high tolerance for spice at all…until I’m sick, then I can eat spice until the cows come home!

Udon Noodle Bowl

Yummmmooo!

With lunch done, we are getting ready (and rugging up!) to head out to the beach for a little farewell for our Buddy Pete.  Buddy Pete is moving to Maine for the winter to continue his awesome work with Mountain Riders Alliance.  If you’re love skiing/riding and love the environment, check out MRA.  They are doing awesome work in trying to develop, and run sustainable ski fields. Good work guys!

Have a wonderful Saturday night!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

