Veggieful Lunch!

Lunchtime kind of snuck up on me today.  With breakfast happening a bit late and being a very filling bowl of porridge, I really wasn’t hungry and figured that I would probably end up skipping lunch and having a snack later on.  And then…BAM! All of a sudden around 1:30 I was starving!  Being car-less today and not particularly wanting to take the train to get groceries, it was time to get creative.  I looked through the cupboards and the fridge quickly and nothing jumped out at me. Hmmm what to do?  Then I had a thought…the veggie drawer! Ta da!! A sweet potato and perfectly ripe avocados.  Perfecto!

Veggies sounded perfect to me today since I’ve been feeling a bit sluggish and could do with some hearty nutrients.  Roasted sweet potato and avocado it is.

I peeled and chopped the sweet potato before tossing it in some olive oil and sprinkling with some salt, pepper and a light dusting of italian seasoning for extra flavour! I set the oven to 450F/230C and roasted for about 25 minutes until they were golden and just a tiny bit burnt on the edges (just the way I like em’)!  I added them to some chopped up avocado and topped the lot with a light drizzle of olive oil and a sprinkling of chopped walnuts for texture.

The result was a delicious, healthy and filling lunch.

Veggieful lunch

Veggieful Lunch

Workout…

A little while after lunch my exercise motivation finally kicked in and I busted out Jillian Michael’s 30 Day Shred.  This workout DVD is definitely one of my favourites and my usual go-to.  I love that there’s 3 levels to choose from and that each of them is challenging in their own way.  Since it’s been a while since I’ve exercised properly and was feeling a bit lethargic, I just opted for level 1.  It still gets my heart pumping and got me nice and sweaty.  A nice way to ease back into the daily grind!

Now, onto my next wedding recap.  I know I said that I would cover one wedding related event per post but I just can’t help myself so this time it’ll be two (but one is technically not related to myyyy wedding so that’s ok!).

Lozza’s Surprise…

On Tuesday, my girlfriends Kate, Tegan and I were cooking up a little surprise engagement spread for our gorgeous friend Lauren who got engaged to her long time boyfriend Nath while travelling in Hungary.  We hadn’t seen her alone yet (I actually hadn’t seen her in almost 2 years!!) and so the four of us hadn’t had a chance to celebrate all together.  While we were busy planning a little surprise for her, it turned out that the surprise was going to be on us (with Kate being a sneaky go-between)!! Kate and Teegs turned up to my room with champagne, cheese and crackers and little Hawaiian head lei’s.  I threw out some wedding themed napkins courtesy of my mum and we were ready to surprise her!

When the little tap-tap was heard on the hotel door, Lozza was greeted by our three beaming faces and a head and neck lei to adorn our beautiful newly engaged friend.  After sitting down to pop the champas and celebrate, Lozza turned around and started handing out little cards and presents to the three of us….weird! I started to read the very sweet card that detailed all of the fun and special memories that we have shared over the past 7 years.  When I got to the end of the card, the words “will you be my bridesmaid?” hung in my mind for a little minute before it really registered.  I’M GOING TO BE A BRIDESMAID!! I was so unbelievably excited (as we all were) and with some hugs and a couple of tears we were all so touched and honoured to have been chosen.  I can’t wait to stand up with Loz on her special day and share in the love of two of my best friends.

Lozza

Bridesmaid celebrations!

The excitement of that little moment with my best college girlfriends continued into the evening as our first ‘official’ wedding event began.

Welcome Drinks…

Chris and I had organised for all the guests that had made it to Waikiki by Tuesday night to join us for happy hour welcome drinks in the Hula Grill bar at the Outrigger Waikiki on the Beach, where the majority of our guests were staying.

We got there right as they opened to make sure that they knew we were coming and to try to grab some tables and a little section for our group.  We put a bar tab behind the bar to take care of our guests for a couple of hours and before we knew it people were arriving, there was lots of excited squealing (from me not Chris…well not that I know of) and the cocktails were flowing.  This was the first time that a whole lot of the wedding party were all together and we were having an absolute blast! Having both of our families together was a real highlight for me as Chris’ family arrived just in time for the drinks from NY.  With our families being on opposite sides of the world, it was such a treat to see them together, chatting and mingling like they were next door neighbours.  This event was really so much fun and continued that way as we managed to get a ridiculously big group of Aussie and US buddies in for a cheap casual dinner at Round Table.  Oh what fun it is being surrounded by our friends!

welcome drinks

Welcome Drinks!

After dinner a group of us headed out to a nearby bar for some more drinks and catching up.  I didn’t last long being exhausted from wedding prep and having to be up early for flower shopping! Chris powered on and made it home in the wee hours after being well and truly hydrated by his buddies.  Such good friends!

Ohhh this wedding recapping is so much fun (for me at least)!

I hope you’re all enjoying it!

Leave a Reply

