Breakfast Apple Pie!

I promise I’ll get to my apple pie for breakfast in just a minute, but first a quick update of last night…

When I left you yesterday, we were settling in for some relaxing and movie watching which quickly turned into playing around with the new camera! Which, basically amounted to me stalking Annie.  It’s definitely going to take some figuring out, but the photos are already sooo much better than our old camera!

Annie

New Camera Stalking!

Don’t you love the one of Annie mid-yawn? She’s so cute!

When it got to about 6pm I was a liiiittttllleee stir crazy after not having done any exercise all day. I convinced Chris to come with me and walk Annie down to a nice grassy patch not too far from us.  It was a beautiful night, but don’t be fooled by the sunshine, it was windy and brisk!!

Evening glow

My loves in the evening glow

Annie ran around losing her little dog mind for a good 20 minutes before it got too cold and we wanted to head back home.

Annie

Grass is her second favourite thing. Sand is number 1!

The rest of the night was spent eating a delicious pizza that Chris whipped up and some good old relaxing.

After another night of not so good sleep (you know those nights with a cold where you basically have to sleep upright to keep your nose unblocked?) my 3 mile run that was on the schedule for today was not happening, but I do plan to at least walk it a bit later on.  Ugh, frustrating!

I was in the mood for another mood pick-me-up breakfast so I turned to one that I’ve made a couple of times before and always makes me happy.  Why? Because it smells and tastes like Apple Pie for Breakfast! I originally read the recipe here  after seeing it on Pinterest but now there’s no need for a recipe.  This breakfast is ridiculously easy.  It’s pretty much a ‘dump everything in and stir’ kinda thing.  Who doesn’t love that?

You will need;

1 C Water (You could always use milk, but I opted for the lighter version this morning)

1/2 C Oats (the original recipe called for the Quick Cooking kind but if you have Old Fashioned, just let it cook a little bit longer).

1 Apple cored and chopped (I leave the skin on, but that’s up to you!)

1 tsp Cinnamon

1/4 tsp Nutmeg

1 tbs Wheat Germ (optional)

Breakfast Apple Pie

The goodies

Bring the water to a boil in a small saucepan.  When the water is bubbling away, literally throw all the other ingredients right in there with it.  Turn the heat down to low and simmer for 3-5 minutes (until you have your desired consistency), while stirring and singing Christmas tunes in your head since your kitchen will smell like holiday heaven.

Spoon it out into a bowl, top with a nice sprinkling of brown sugar and a splash of milk and enjoy!

Breakfast Apple Pie

Breakfast Apple Pie, Oh Yeeeeaah!

I hope you’re all having a nice Sunday! I am enjoying the fact that one week from today, I’ll be in Hawaiiiiiii!

See ya later!

P.S Go Giants!

Leave a Reply

