Bridging the Gap

Well, the sunny summer weather didn’t exactly last long around here, but I guess two days is better than nothing! I’m sad to see the hot steamy weather go, it really is such a nice feeling walking around in flip flops/thongs and a sun dress on a warm night and not feeling even the slightest chill in the air.

The morning started off with the promise of another beautiful day (and so I chose to wear shorts and a singlet to work!) but around lunch time, just as quick as it had come, the sun was lost behind a THICK layer of cold windy fog.  It was definitely not the best weather to be scantily clad walking the kiddies to and from their music class! But, the coolness was nice for making the usual pretty leisurely walk into a fast power walk to feel the burn a little bit since today was a no workout day!

I was excited to get home this evening because I knew that my sister Ash was back at my parents house which meant that we would be able to Skype again! Ash works as a ski instructor and where she was living for the winter she didn’t have enough wifi, or 3G or maybe 4G? The whole G thing confuses me to no end, but anyway, Skype was pretty much out of the question for a couple of months there.  I talk to my family on Skype I would say most days, at least twice or three times a week, and I love it!  I love that my parents just stick my head on the dining table while they’re having breakfast and I get to just slot in to the conversation.  I love that I get to see my grandparents faces and give my nan ‘cyber smacks’ when she hasn’t been careful and has had a little stumble, or see my brothers happy face.

Ash skype

Aww I miss you too sissy!

It’s crazy to think about just how much I rely on the internet and these fandangled awesome forms of communication to stay connected to my life at home.  I use Whatsapp and Viber to talk to friends on a daily basis and Facebook to stay up to date with the latest goings on.  When I really think about it, a lot of my relationships have at some point, depended on these things.

When Chris and I met and starting dating back in December of 2009 (we met teaching skiing in Tahoe) we only had two months together before I had to go back to Australia to finish up my University degree.  It is a LOT of pressure to put on a brand new relationship and we initially decided to be friends and to just stay in touch.  It took ohhhh about a day of being apart to realise that this, us was something worth at least trying to pursue.  And so our 10 month long distance relationship began.

In the 10 months that we were apart, we spoke to each other on Skype every single day.  Our longest conversation lasted for 5 hours.  Luckily we had pretty good internet! Seeing as our relationship was so new when I left for home, we had a lot of our ‘firsts’ on Skype!

Chris and Fizz

Early Days

Our first big fight, our first birthdays together, our first family trips (I was present on the computer at Chris’ family getaway in Turks and Caicos).  My mum came into my bedroom when I was staying at their house late one night and I was asleep with the computer next to me, and on the computer, Chris was asleep, a million miles away but right next to me.  It was tough to say the least but I can’t even imagine what it would have been like without being able to see each other’s faces every day.  My parents talk about how easy we had it (although they were the only ones most of the time who could understand what we were going through).  My dad was in the airforce and was away when my parents were planning their wedding, so they would talk, and fight through letters! Yep! They said they would just be getting over what the fight was about when the next letter would come and would rile them up again! My dad landed back in Australia two weeks before their wedding, talk about getting off wedding planning scot free! Good idea dad!

I’ve had my best friends live in different countries and we would go through the usual girly chit chat and catch ups on the computer screen, I’ve heard both amazing and devastating news face to face but so far away.

It’s a weird place to be to say the least.  Sometimes you can be chatting away on Skype and feel like you’re in the same room as someone, like there’s no distance at all.  And then something happens, the internet cuts out or someone has somewhere to be because you’re on completely different time zones and then it’s hits you…you’re still a million miles away.  Without a doubt, Skype, Whatsapp and Viber do a pretty awesome job at bridging the gap!

Well, I’m off to cook up some bolognese for dinner.  With the cooler temps tonight, a nice hearty ‘spag bol’ should do the trick!

See you tomorrow!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

