Pumpkin and Greek Yogurt Loaf!

Well, it’s been a kitchen-y kinda afternoon/evening!

When I left you, my sweet tooth was burning some cavities in my teeth and I was in the mood for bakin’ and shakin’ (pandora was playing!).  I had a search through the cupboards and saw canned pumpkin, brown sugar and nuts and with all this talk of October and fall/autumn…pumpkin loaf time!

While I was searching the cupboards, I had a little snack attach and munched on some dark chocolate covered almonds, deeelish!

Snack attack

Mmm chocolate…and almonds…awesome!

I wasn’t in the mood for a buttery heavy cake-like loaf so I took to the awesomeness that is google and searched for some substitutions.  A recipe that used greek yogurt instead of butter popped up and I was sold! It was also a good excuse to use my brand new kitchen aid that I got for my wedding kitchen tea.  Fun!

 

Pumpkin and greek yogurt loaf

Into the mix!

Into the mix went the wet ingredients.  When they were just mixed, I slowly added the whisked together dry ingredients until just combined.

Then the nuts were folded in with my special ingredient Bob’s Red Mill muesli! Mmmm!

A couple of taste tests later, and it was ready for the loaf pan!

 

Pumpkin and greek yogurt loaf

All mixed up!

Pour the mix into a lightly greased loaf pan and shake the pan around a bit to let it all settle in the corners.

Then, my little trick for a crunchy nutty loaf, sprinkle a little bit of extra muesli and walnuts all over the top of the loaf.

Pop it the oven and cook for 50-55 minutes.  In my oven it took more like 60 mins.  I seriously can’t figure out my weird oven! The whole thing is crazy! Stovetops and all!

 

 

An hour later, I pulled this little beauty out of the oven!

Pumpkin and greek yogurt loaf

Pumpkin and greek yogurt deliciousness!

The beauty of baking for me is that it takes a while, so by the time it comes out of the oven, has cooled a little bit and is ready for eating, my crazy appetite has usually calmed down a little bit which stops me from going absolutely crazy on the snacks, success!

Pumpkin and Greek Yogurt Loaf

 

What you need:

  • 1 ½ C Whole wheat flour
  • 1 tsp Baking Powder
  • ½ tsp baking soda
  • ½ tsp kosher salt
  • 2 tsp Pumpkin Pie Spice
  • 1 Egg
  • 1 C Dark Brown Sugar (packed)
  • ¾ C Non-fat Greek Yogurt
  • ¾ C Pumpkin Puree
  • 3 Tbs Canola Oil
  • 1 ½ tsp Pure Vanilla
  • 1 C Chopped Walnuts plus extra for sprinklin’
  • Hand full of Bob’s Red Mill Muesli

Directions:

  • Pre-heat oven to 350F/176C and grease loaf pan
  • Whisk together pumpkin pie spice, baking powder, baking soda, salt and flour
  • Mix together egg, sugar, yogurt, pumpkin, vanilla and oil
  • Slowly mix in flour mixture until just combined
  • Stir in walnuts and muesli
  • Pour into greased loaf pan
  • Top with sprinkling of muesli and extra walnuts
  • Bake 50-55 minutes or until a skewer comes out clean
  • Let cool before removing from pan

 

Enjoy as is, or with a little swipe of butter!

Happy Fall/Autumn!

I am off to watch the new Hart of Dixie (yeeeewwww!) and enjoy this summery night with my loves!

Happy night to you all!

 

 

 

One thought on “Pumpkin and Greek Yogurt Loaf!

  1. Pingback: No Workout Morning Breakfast! | fizzsbizz

Leave a Reply

