Daily Archives: October 2, 2012

The Nanny Diaries

I will get to ‘the nanny diaries’ in a minute, but first I just had to share some excitement.  I picked up my super secret wedding errand today! I dropped a certain something off at a certain place to have a certain thing done on Monday and just two days later, that certain something was ready! Yay for speedy service!

Now onto the reason for my post title.  I have been working as a nanny for the same family (two kids) for over a year now, they were 8 months and 2 and a half when I started.  When I first moved to San Francisco and in with Chris, I wanted a job and fast! I wanted to be able to contribute and not feel like I was any sort of burden, financially or otherwise.  Of course Chris didn’t think I was a burden, but I’m sure you know what I mean! You want to be able to hold your own.

So I went out on a search to get any job I could find, but hopefully something through the weekdays and where I might meet some people.  I ended up working for several miserable months as a bicycle rental salesperson down in Fisherman’s Wharf.  Probably the worst job I’ve ever had.  The commute to Fisherman’s wharf from where we used to live was a nightmare and I spent most of my days in a single person booth filling out paper work (not quite the social, meet people job I anticipated!).  I slugged it out for a couple of months making my awesome $10/hour until I had had enough, which just so happened to coincide with our Hawaii trip to Maui! Yahoo!

Hawaii

Freedom!

Once that blissful week of freedom was over however, it was back to reality and I needed something new.  Being a registered nurse in Australia (I flew out to the U.S the day after I graduated from University!) I knew I needed to do something that would feel worthwhile to me, something that involved caring for someone else in some way.  And so I turned to Care.com to see what was out there.  It didn’t take long before I interviewed with the family I have been working with ever since, and so my life as a nanny began!

While talking to the mum of the kids the other morning (she’s great and we get along really well), she was asking about my wedding shoes and I told her that they definitely weren’t the most comfortable pick, she advised me to have flip flops/thongs on hand to change into.  I told her that I definitely would even though I am a big time ‘heels girl’ and would happily suffer through the pain and she laughed because she said she had no idea what I liked to wear, where I went out, what I did, besides the general “what did you get up to this weekend?”.  It wasn’t an important conversation but it started me thinking about how strange of a job being a nanny really is.

All at the same time you have to be; a friend, a confidant, an entertainer, a safety monitor, a counsellor and at times the bad guy.  You love these kids to death, protect them like they’re your own, and yet…they’re not.  I have seen a lot of their ‘firsts’, patched up scraped knees and elbows, sung lullabies and been the brunt of many tantrums.  I spend roughly 6 hours a day with these kids and with this family, in their house, with their things but when it comes down to it, we really don’t know each other at all! And I’m not saying that’s a bad thing, because at the end of the day it’s a job and you want that separation between your personal life and professional life, but in a profession that is in so many ways so personal it’s a strange contradiction.

Nanny

Yes, there is a child in that swing. Blurred for protection.

I’m sure that a lot of you saw the movie ‘The Nanny Diaries’ with Scarlett Johansson that follows the life of a New York City nanny and the ins and out’s of the nanny community.  Well in a lot of ways it was crazy overdone, and it a lot of ways it really wasn’t!  I have heard stories that would make you laugh, make you cringe, make you cry and make you think people should need a license to have kids!

It is definitely a challenging, interesting, strange and totally rewarding job and I love it (for the most part).  I am starting to think though that if I ever want kids of my own, I am going to need a new gig! If anyone’s interested in birth control that pays you, I suggest looking into being a nanny! Not kidding at all Just kidding!

Well, it is now 4:40 and so dinner isn’t tooooo far away, but my sweet tooth is biting hard and I feel like baking! We shall see what comes of this!

 

 

At Home Full Body Circuit!

Good morning world! I hope everyone had a good night of sleep for their first sleep in October!

Chris wasn’t getting up early for the gym this morning and we were both a little bit tired, so when the alarm went off, I turned it off in favour of some quality family cuddle time, Annie’s favourite!

Since I was running a bit late to make it to the gym before work, I decided on a kick butt at home workout instead.  I spread out my pink mat, cranked up my Robyn Pandora station and busted out this 30 minute At Home Full Body Workout.

AT HOME FULL BODY WORKOUT

Complete each exercise for 60 secs, rest 30 secs between each.

Ready? GO!

  • Jumping jacks
  • Squats with shoulder press

    At Home Full Body Circuit

    Trusty Nike’s

  • High Knees
  • Jump Rope
  • Reverse Crunches
  • Push Ups
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Reverse Lunge with Front Kick (30 secs each leg)
  • Tricep Dips
  • Jump Rope
  • Dead lift with single row
  • In-and-outs
  • Jumping Jacks
  • Basic crunches with Chest Press
  • Lateral shoulder raises
  • Plank
  • Jump Rope
  • Bicep Curls (3 mins non-stop)
  • Jumping Jacks

This took me about 30 mins to complete, and it was a good all over workout!

At Home Full Body Circuit

Made it!

After finally managing to get Annie off my mat so I get it rolled up, it was on to breakfast! Breakfast this morning was a no-brainer since I prepared it last night! Overnight Oats!

Apple Cinnamon overnight oats

Deeelish!

I mixed half a cup of Bob’s Red Mill Old Fashioned Oats with a container of Chobani Apple Cinnamon Non-Fat Yogurt (YUM!) and a splash of almond milk, covered it with some cling wrap and stuck it in the fridge overnight.

 

 

 

When I pulled it out of the fridge, this deliciousness was waiting for me!

Apple Cinnamon overnight oats

YUM!

With another little splash of Almond Milk, it was good to go! It’s thick, rich and creamy and a real ‘stick to your guts’ kinda breakfast (right up my alley!).

Now I’m off to shower or I’ll be seriously late to work!

Fully loaded veggie pizza!

After enjoying a be-e-a-utiful afternoon of relaxing and getting some sun, it was finally time to tackle the grocery shopping!

I wasn’t really sure what I felt like for dinner tonight and didn’t want to go shopping without a little bit of a plan! Then, while going through the veggie drawer, I noticed that some of our goodies weren’t going to last too much longer.  I decided to chop them up, toss them with some olive oil, onion powder, salt and pepper and roast them up!

Roasted vegetables

Mmmm roasty toasty!

As they were roasting, it hit me! Veggie pizza! Veggie pizza was always a favourite in my house, yum!

Once these little babies were out of the oven, I headed off to grab our groceries for the week.  By then it was 5:30, not an ideal time to go shopping! Our local grocery store has a severe lack of shopping trolleys and once the pickin’s are slim, it’s every man for himself, and it can get intense! Don’t you worry, I got mine!

Then it was home to bake up the goods!

Boboli pizza baseI used a Boboli pizza base which Chris and I have used before and I really like.  I think they are the perfect thickness and tasty!

Perfect if you don’t have time or don’t want to make up your own.

I spread the base with some tomato paste and sprinkled on some mozzarella cheese (I’m a big fan of the cheese on the bottom of the toppings).

After cheesin’ it up, I dumped carefully placed on the roasted veggies.  I also added some Aidell’s chicken apple sausage and a bit of deli ham because I lovvveee me some meats on pizza! A little extra sprinkle of cheese and it was ready to go!

10 minutes later, we were whistlin’ a happy pizza tune!

Fully loaded pizza

Deeeeeeelish!

It was ultra delicious, very filling and chocked with veggie goodness, a winner!

Fully loaded Veggie Pizza

1. Roast your choice of vegetables with a generous drizzle of olive oil, salt and pepper in 450F/230C oven for around 30 mins.

2. Pre-heat the oven to 450F/230C if no longer heated

3. Spread your pizza base with tomato paste and sprinkle on mozzarella cheese (to the edges, don’t be shy!)

4. Add your roasted veggies and choice of meat (totally optional).

5. A little extra cheese for good measure

6. Cook in the oven for about 8-10 minutes (I place the pizza right on the rack, it makes for a sweeeet crunchy base!)

7. Slice it up and enjoy!

Well, a little tv time for me and I’ll be calling it a night.  Happy dreams everyone!