Love/Hate

I most definitely have a love/hate relationship with this crazy city of San Francisco.  Let’s jump into that in a second.  Up first, lunch!

We are running desperately low on food at the moment because we are trying to make it to the first of October before doing a big shop.  So today, it was an ‘eat what you can find’ kind of day.  A big favourite with my family growing up.  Today I found eggs, skim milk, turkey, frozen Mexican blend vegetables and Mexican 4 cheese blend.  This called for one thing…scrambled eggs with a Mexican influence!

Lunch started off pretty dramatically! I had my small non stick pan heating up when I decided to give it a quick spray with some oil (mind fart) and whooooosh! Up it went in flames! Luckily my eyebrows were still intact and I could continue with lunch.  After scrambling it all up, and topping with a bit of extra cheese for good measure, lunch was a real treat!

Yum Yum!

Aww Annie’s little ‘but mum, what about me?’ eyes are the cutest!

Anyway, back to San Francisco.  I most definitely do have a love/hate relationship with this city.  I have determined that yes, a lot of it is to do with the weather just like a lot of people calling Northern California home.  The fog can be soul crushingly depressing (dramatic much?) and the sunshine can turn the sky into the most perfect blue sky you’ve ever seen.

But for me, it’s more than that.  There’s something I can’t quite put my finger on in SF.  Sometimes it seems to me that it has all the makings of being the best city in the world; an eclectic mix of people who for the most part are very environmentally and health conscious, beautiful coast line, gorgeous mountains near by and phenomenal food.  On paper, it sounds perfect (trust me, I’ve put it on paper many times, yes I do make pro/con lists!)! But when you put it all together something seems awry. 

The beaches are gorgeous yes, but unless you’re a surfer or want to swim in a full wetsuit, it’s typically too freezing to swim, and the coast attracts the famous San Francisco fog more than any other area, so something’s missing there!

The eclectic mix of people with environmental and health interests are wonderful and lead to an interesting group of people doing interesting things in the city.  But, many of the city streets are covered in litter and cardboard boxes, people are cutting each other off and screaming in the bumper to bumper traffic to get into Trader Joe’s and Whole Foods.  Add to the mix that San Francisco is fast becoming obscenely expensive to live in, and something definitely seems a little off.

Please forgive my light bashing of the city by the bay today.  Ask me again tomorrow when the (hopeful) heat wave blows through and I’ll probably be singing ‘I left my heart in San Francisco!’ I’m an emotional roller coaster, what can I say!

Powered by Qumana

Leave a Reply

